Timmy Reed

cuttyspot:

'that seems so rare and goofy it makes me laugh'

cuttyspot:

'that seems so rare and goofy it makes me laugh'

— 1 week ago with 12 notes
My novel, Star Backwards, was a finalist in the Civil Coping Mechanism’s Mainline Contest

My novel, Star Backwards, was a finalist in the Civil Coping Mechanism’s Mainline Contest

I don’t know why I didn’t post this earlier this summer when it happened, but a satirical novel I wrote about Hollywood, North Baltimore, reality television, plastic surgery, bodily fluid donation, and religion in the early 2000′s was a finalist for Civil Coping Mechanisms awesome Mainline contest. Check out the details, here: http://copingmechanisms.net/mainline

View On WordPress

— 2 weeks ago
#Civil Coping Mechanisms  #finalist  #Mainline  #Michael Seidlinger  #novel  #novel contest  #satire  #Star Backwards 
My story, There Is No “I” in Gang, Published at Free State Review

Very proud to have my short story about a Baltimore City street gang at a team-building retreat in the woods find a home in issue 4 of the Free State Review.

My story, There Is No “I” in Gang, Published at Free State Review

Very proud to have my short story about a Baltimore City street gang at a team-building retreat in the woods find a home in issue 4 of the Free State Review.

— 2 weeks ago with 1 note
#Annapolis  #Baltimore  #Barrett Warner  #Fiction  #free state review  #Maryland  #short story  #street gangs  #team building retreats  #There is No &039;I&039; in Gang  #Timmy Reed 

altlitgossip:

Carabella Sands reads a fairy tale by the Grimm Brothers while Timmy Reed listens

the moral of this fairy tale is:

1. Don’t make friends with Death
2. Don’t try to cheat Death
3. Don’t try to save people from dying
4. Ok you can cheat Death once, but not twice !!
5. Don’t play with candles
6. I don’t really know what the moral to this story is supposed to be

— 2 weeks ago with 12 notes
digthatnews:

In the early spring of ‘15, Dig That will be publishing “The Ghosts That Surrounded Them,” a new novel by Timmy Reed. The novel reads like a field guide to living in a world where ghosts are brought to life by emotions, actions, ideas, and thin air. 
The narrative centers around two basically average families from the suburbs, as they confront some of the harder truths of contemporary society. Infidelity, unemployment, dishonesty, death and near death experiences, family holidays. And as if that were not enough to weigh them down, they also had to deal with the fact that they lived in a world where everything is made of ghosts. Even the table salt. Each member of each family had their own, and created more nearly every second of their waking lives. Ghosts multiply. And while the two families don’t know each other at all, Bob, Jan, Markus, Dog, Steve, Wendy, Dana, and Sue all shared many of the same ghosts, often at the same. But everything should be fine, they tell themselves, if they can just make it through the winter. 
"Reminiscent of Shane Jones and Kevin Brockmeier, but with a style all its own, Timmy Reed’s The Ghosts That Surrounded Them is a history of the unseen world, a beautifully written surreal meditation on life and death, the distances that surround us all, and the beauty of life. Reed is a real talent. I devoured this book in a single sitting, and it stayed with me like few others." -CL Bledsoe, author of Man of Clay
 ’Timmy Reed, in the vein of Matt Bell and Blake Butler, is the literary world’s next exciting wordsmith, but it is the tender care of his subjects—fragile, human ones—for which he will really be remembered.” -Jen Michalski, author of The Tide King and Could You Be With Her Now
“Timmy Reed has a strange and wonderful imagination, one of the results of which is the beautifully haunted world of The Ghosts That Surrounded Them, a short novel that reads like a fake handbook of the world with a particular emphasis on the fascinatinghistory of ghosts and reminds the reader of the inescapable tragedy of the human condition.” -Michael Kimball author of Big Ray and Dear Everybody
Coming spring ‘15.

digthatnews:

In the early spring of ‘15, Dig That will be publishing “The Ghosts That Surrounded Them,” a new novel by Timmy Reed. The novel reads like a field guide to living in a world where ghosts are brought to life by emotions, actions, ideas, and thin air. 

The narrative centers around two basically average families from the suburbs, as they confront some of the harder truths of contemporary society. Infidelity, unemployment, dishonesty, death and near death experiences, family holidays. And as if that were not enough to weigh them down, they also had to deal with the fact that they lived in a world where everything is made of ghosts. Even the table salt. Each member of each family had their own, and created more nearly every second of their waking lives. Ghosts multiply. And while the two families don’t know each other at all, Bob, Jan, Markus, Dog, Steve, Wendy, Dana, and Sue all shared many of the same ghosts, often at the same. But everything should be fine, they tell themselves, if they can just make it through the winter.

"Reminiscent of Shane Jones and Kevin Brockmeier, but with a style all its own, Timmy Reed’s The Ghosts That Surrounded Them is a history of the unseen world, a beautifully written surreal meditation on life and death, the distances that surround us all, and the beauty of life. Reed is a real talent. I devoured this book in a single sitting, and it stayed with me like few others." -CL Bledsoe, author of Man of Clay

 ’Timmy Reed, in the vein of Matt Bell and Blake Butler, is the literary world’s next exciting wordsmith, but it is the tender care of his subjects—fragile, human ones—for which he will really be remembered.” -Jen Michalski, author of The Tide King and Could You Be With Her Now

Timmy Reed has a strange and wonderful imagination, one of the results of which is the beautifully haunted world of The Ghosts That Surrounded Them, a short novel that reads like a fake handbook of the world with a particular emphasis on the fascinatinghistory of ghosts and reminds the reader of the inescapable tragedy of the human condition.” -Michael Kimball author of Big Ray and Dear Everybody

Coming spring ‘15.

— 3 weeks ago with 6 notes
My story, Swimming Lessons, in Baltimore Style’s First Ever Fiction Issue

Excited to have a story, Swimming Lessons, included in Baltimore Style magazine’s first ever fiction issue, alongside great writers (and friends) like Jen Michalski and Jessica Anya Blau.

My story, Swimming Lessons, in Baltimore Style’s First Ever Fiction Issue

Excited to have a story, Swimming Lessons, included in Baltimore Style magazine’s first ever fiction issue, alongside great writers (and friends) like Jen Michalski and Jessica Anya Blau.

— 1 month ago with 3 notes
#Baltimore  #baltimore jewish times  #Baltimore Style  #beauty  #Betsy Boyd  #Fiction  #Flash Fiction  #Hampden  #illustration  #Jen MIchalski  #Jessica Anya Blau  #round falls  #snowballs  #Summer  #summer fiction  #Timmy Reed 
carabellasands:

This is a Valentines Day love poem I wrote for Timmy.  What do you think?  Should I show it to him?

carabellasands:

This is a Valentines Day love poem I wrote for Timmy.  What do you think?  Should I show it to him?

— 1 month ago with 40 notes